Tags

, , , , ,

Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other

Write a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, and then expand on it in a post.

My future in six words: Short, sweet, and simple. The end.

As a child, I lived in a beautiful home on a decent size piece of land. Behind the house and on one side were woods, and on the other side lay a man-made pond. Many, many memories took place in or by that pond; it was a place of solace for me. Even as a youngster, I would sit and watch the mirrored surface of the pond. If you sit quietly and patiently enough nature will let you watch as it unfolds around you. I would watch the gnats and dragonflies hovering above the water, fish dart in and out of the marsh on the hunt for the hundreds of minnows and tadpoles that lined the shores, herons swoop in when a fish got too daring for its own good, and the shadows of the over lining trees that bowed towards the water as if their leaves were reaching for a drink. It was on this peaceful space of acreage that I would contemplate my life and what I was meant to do with it.

Ever since I can remember what it felt like to have the freedom to sulk along the banks of that pond while musing about the goings-on of my day, I can remember the feeling of knowing I have an important part to play. In what? History? Politics? Literature? Medicine? Someone’s life? Well I can tell you, reader, that if I knew…I would be doing it, not blogging about it. It wasn’t until high school when I dropped my dream of being a Pediatrician, that I knew exactly what I wanted out of my life. It might seem simple to you, reader, but to me it is my legacy, my purpose of being here. A novel. That is what I want, but I want it to be a novel that changes someone’s life for the better. I want it to be a novel that children are taught in school. Aiming high, huh?

What other way is there to aim, but high?

Let’s just be clear: I want my novel to have the fame, not me. I know it’s a package deal usually, but as my title says, what I see for my future is simplicity. I have no longing for the extraordinary lifestyle-a couple bucks to keep my family comfortable is enough for me. A simple home that is filled with the sounds of laughter and bursting from the seams with bodies (live ones, mind you). That is all I need. The future me is raising children and living the life I am wanting to live now. I hope I am doing right by her, and that she is thinking of me with a smile and just a pinch of nostalgia.

Life is short, we all know this. As long as I am here, taking up space and oxygen, I want my life to mean something. I want my future told hold in store for me more sweets than bitterness. Doesn’t everyone? No matter what fate may bring me, I know that this life of mine will be over far quicker than I want it to. It is so true that time passes in the blink of an eye. I mean, 9-11….that happened twelve years ago. That still makes my eyes widen, then I blink furiously and I shake my head in amazement at the amount of space and time between myself now and the little child I was that day.

If I were to look into a crystal ball and tell you what my future would look like, this is what I’d tell you: no glory, fame, or riches-just a short, sweet, and simple life. Bountiful amounts of happiness, and equal plethora of tragedy. Life is a beautiful ride, eh?

The end.

