Tags

, , ,

Daily Prompt: Thank You

The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone).

Once upon a time, although no one knows exactly when or where, a powerful sorcerer created a magical potion. The sorcerer had searched everywhere to find a remedy to the outcries of the masses. The people were tired and exhausted and having trouble completing their menial every day chores and work. They didn’t know the word for it at the time, but what they needed was energy. After searching through nature for an answer for what seemed like a life time, the sorcerer finally found his answer. For such a small bean it packed a powerful and potent punch; he didn’t even have to use magic. The sorcerer had succeeded and the people were more than pleased. They made him a god and worshiped the ground that he walked on-the cups that he drank from. Thus is the story of how coffee was born…

Okay…I made all that up, but it’s nice to think that is how coffee originated. Truth is, no one really does no when or where it started. The only thing certain about the history of that magical bean is that it is dated at least back to the 15th century. It’s fame and popularity among people hasn’t diminished some thousands of years later. In today’s day in age the variety of coffee is unlimited. Different styles, flavors, and strengths.

It’s not Thanksgiving yet so instead of blubbering on amount who all I am thankful to, I will dedicate this blog to my favorite drink, Coffee. I was introduced to this drink that I thought was for grown-ups only when I was very young. My dad has at least four cups a day (and that’s being mild), my grandmother would have a cup every morning with her breakfast, and my mom would drink some occasionally. When I had my first sip, I knew I was done for. I’m addicted to coffee. I am grateful that I have this drink because I wake up earlier than most, get to work by 7:00am, and don’t leave ’til sometimes around 5:30pm. Usually, I’m tired before most people my age are considering sleep. I owe a lot of finished projects and deadlines to coffee, not to mention my cigarette wouldn’t be the same without it. It is a simple pleasure most people wouldn’t think to be thankful for, because it is always so available. I am, mostly due to the fact that I am well aware that I would be a grouch without it.

So thank you, Coffee, you wonderful cup of bliss. I’ll be seeing you in a couple of hours for our date.

