Tags

, ,

old books

Daily Prompt: 2100

The language of the future: what will it be like? Write an experimental post using some imagined vocabulary — abbreviations, slang, new terms.

Silence. This is going to be the conversation of the future. A conversation made up of no words. Why not? More improbable things have come to pass. Telepathy isn’t that much of a stretch of the imagination. I would by far prefer this to the further degradation of the spoken language, and in consequence the further squalor of humanity’s etiquette and morals.

People are becoming more and more lazy. You can see this just in the deterioration of prose, sentence structure, pronunciation, etc. Technology and cell phones have a lot to do with this evolution. The decline of people willing to speak over the phone versus text continues to slide every day. I confess, I am one of them. I am one of the people who are accomplice to watching the beautiful and flowery verbiage of the earlier centuries diminish into slang and symbols. We have grown so lazy as a people, that even in texting, we use acronyms instead of taking the extra few seconds to type out the words. Lol: Laugh out loud. Brb: Be right back. Gtg: Got to go. Jk: Just kidding. One of the most hated in the texting universe; K: Okay. Are you getting my point?

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” -Mr Darcy, from Jane Austen’s beautiful Pride and Prejudice. In today’s day, this would be, “Hey girl. I can’t stop thinkin bout u. Ily/I luv u/I love you.”

“I have not the pleasure of understanding you.”-Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice. This has been shortened to a concise and unflattering, “What?”

“You are too generous to trifle with me. If your feelings are still what they were last April, tell me so at once. My affections and wishes are unchanged; but one word from you will silence me on this subject for ever.” -Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice. Or, “I still like you. Do u feel the same? If not, if not I’ll leave u alone.”

I recently made Matt watch the 1995 adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice in which I have fondly studied since watching it with my family as a child. I was lucky enough to have two parents who thoroughly enjoyed the movie, thus I was privy to the earlier spoken English language as a youngster. As I could have only guessed, Matt who is all-that-is-man enjoyed it but at a cost. The majority of the movie was hard to follow. I found myself, as I always do when listening to the old language, wishing that people still spoke to each other in that manner. It went beyond the use of big words. It was more a general respect for each other and a respect for their own intelligence. Even the most “low” in society spoke with more care then the highest of positions today.

You want a hot body? You want a Bugatti?
You want a Maserati? You better work bitch
You want a Lamborghini? Sippin martinis?
Look hot in a bikini? You better work bitch
You wanna live fancy? Live in a big mansion?
Party in France?
You better work bitch, you better work bitch
You better work bitch, you better work bitch
Now get to work bitch!
Now get to work bitch!

Or…

Therell be bluebirds over
The white cliffs of Dover
Tomorrow
Just you wait and see

I’ll never forget the people I met
Braving those angry skies
I remember well as the shadows fell
The light of hope in their eyes

And though I’m far away
I still can hear them say
Bombs up…
But when the dawn comes up

Therell be bluebirds over
The white cliffs of Dover
Tomorrow
Just you wait and see

That’s just 72 years of difference between a popular song today in 2013 versus a popular song back in 1941. Jane Austen, William Shakespeare, and Charlotte Bronte would all be rolling in their graves if they could hear the way people speak, sing, or see the way they write. I personally think it’s something to be ashamed of, not proud of. This is not an evolution that is acceptable. Am I wrong to hope that in the future instead of more dilapidation and decay in our vocabulary that we simply progress so far that no words are spoke at all? I, for one, think that would be more beautiful than some of the things I hear walking down the street, or browsing the internet. Food for thought.

 

