Catching A Scent of Salt...

bully_o_829908

At one point in my adolescence, I wanted to be a bird. I remember my brilliant ideas on how to become a bird or at least how to fly. I have this very resolute memory of my first attempt at flying. Standing on the high red slide that sat in the backyard of my old house I spread my arms out wide and looked toward the heavens. And I leapt. Of course I fell, even after my awkward attempt at flapping my arms. When I look back now I don’t see it from my eyes, it is almost as if I am seeing it from someone else’s eyes. I see my erect back, arms spread out triumphantly, and chin set in my determination to jump and fly…no matter what.  I do not recall when I first lost interest in becoming a bird, probably somewhere along my admittance into middle school…

View original post 892 more words

