Tags

, ,

Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

What’s the household task you most dislike doing? Why do you think that is — is it the task itself, or something more?

You can not imagine the amount of times that after watching Beauty and the Beast and Sword in the Stone, I have fantasized about using magic to do my chores.

No me gusta hacer los quehaceres. There’s a little Spanish I still remember from high school for you bilinguals. For those who can’t speak anything but English, that means: I do not like doing the chores.

I never have. It doesn’t soothe me or put me at ease. Quite the contrary…it makes me pissy. I get mad that I waited so long to do them and now dishes and clothes are piling up. Then I get mad because I can’t wait any longer and I have to do them now. Then I get mad because it is taking so long to finish. Then I get mad because I wasted so much time completing them.

Top Ten Household Chores I Hate The Most:

 

1. Cleaning up dog poop.

2. Taking out the trash.

3. Laundry.

4. Cleaning the toilet.

5. Dishes.

6. Vacuuming.

7. Cleaning out the refrigerator.

8. Sweeping/Mopping.

9. Dusting.

10. Making the bed. [I literally never ever…ever do this. There is absolutely no point.]

Ten things way better than cleaning I could be doing instead:

1. Relaxing.

2. Bathing.

3. Eating.

4. Sleeping.

5. Making love.

6. Reading.

7. Writing.

8. Smoking.

9. Playing Tetris.

10. Singing.

I have always had a resentment for chores. I love the smell, look, and feel of cleanliness. The destination is wonderful, but in this case the journey just sucks. Whenever I was young and it was my turn to help in the kitchen I would excuse myself under the guise of needing to pee, and would sit on the toilet for as long as possible.

I don’t think there is an underlying reason to disliking chores. I’m just uninterested in menial tasks. I’m probably borderline lazy in a way, but Matt accepts that about me and so… oh well. “I’ll think of it tomorrow. After all, tomorrow is another day.”

